SAP-Autism at Work: Part 2

The guy I am attending with, ostensibly to introduce Ascendigo Autism Services’ upcoming trek across the Greenland Ice Cap, picks me up, (since I don’t drive and it would have taken 3 hours on public transportation). Turns out, I should have done just that on Friday, the last day of the summit, because dealing with him and the debacle which ensues returning from the event is quite distressing – but more on that later…

Via Google Maps, I navigate us to the Ling Ka Shing Center at Stanford University in Palo Alto – in the heart of Silicon Valley, which has, arguably, the highest concentration of autistic-like geeks anywhere. After a minor snafu involving parking where I leave the guy in the parking lot and figure it out by querying the check-in desk help, leaving him to his own devices and proceed to investigate and take photos – the camera is both my shield and my raison d’etre at these functions; I feel safer behind it, and it gives me courage to navigate the throngs.

There is a pianist I get a great shot of, good coffee and real cream – which I spill immediately all over the front of the T shirt I designed with my logo and a scannable QR code linking to my website, Autistry And Me, the site you are reading this on.

Then, I turn around and there is the guy we are supposed to initiate contact with; it says so on his nametag. Good thing I remember his name… I am, once again, literally speechless – but not until after I introduce myself and attempt, by shouting across the room, to summon the other guy who doesn’t budge from his coterie of friends from home. Oh, well – it’s his problem now.

This attitude of mine – “It’s his problem” – illustrates an issue with impatience I have with other autistics (HF only). See, I just don’t mesh with this guy – or with most of the other “High Functioning” autistics I have met recently. I don’t see them as high functioning at all, so helpless and clueless they act in situations I just plow my way through; I am expert at asking for help, having required it so much in the past, and even currently. I think I have more empathy with those more like myself, who rock and stim, make animal sounds and echo words and conversations. Those who hit themselves and break down crying like a toddler in the face of frustration. These who look more normal only aggravate me. I hope to become more tolerant but have not managed it yet. Note that I only met my first “High Functioners” in the past few months, so have not had much exposure to them; although, in retrospect, it appears the few friends I have had were mostly “on the spectrum” – undiagnosed. I say “were” because the not very intimate friends I have now, except for one, are not autistic at all. My appearance and genius IQ explain some of it – one “HF” guy remarked recently that I didn’t realize how many doors my beauty opens for me. Yes, I do – and my intelligence as well, I believe these attributes have allowed me to be somewhat admitted to the world at large and semi accepted there – “She’s just so bright!” I have had a very rich and active life in the world of “normal” people and activities, usually as the only autistic, though my autistic behaviors are more outwardly noticeable – the self – stimulating behaviors, poor eye contact and hyperactivity, for instance. I am, for example, the only one rocking and flapping my squishy toy – of which I have many and match to my outfit and the occasion. One example of my assimilation: I was a musical prodigy and played in the local youth symphonies, which trained me to mingle in upscale venues. I was also identified as autistic early in life so have spent my entire life navigating it. Yes, I went intermittent phases from my teens to thirties where I attempted to pretend I was normal, but they were unsuccessful. Now, I embrace my weirdness and try to educate others with humor and originality. So back to the venue…

Excusing myself, I locate the bathroom where I attack the coffee not-yet-stain, emerging with a very unsexy wet T shirt effect. While it is drying, I call Sallie of Ascendigo for an emergency conference on how to proceed from here. She assures me an introduction was sufficient, and off I go, into the melee.

The glass sculpture on the ceiling fascinates me, and I get many pictures. Nobody else seems to notice it.

I speak with a caterer who has the same cell phone as I, and I like her case. She tells me where she got it and I ask her how she likes this crowd. To this she replies, “They are nice – not as snooty as some”.

I see some placards representing companies, including Microsoft, which I have admired since the DOS days – I arrived late to DOS, when 95 was the OS  – I was writing custom Config.sys and autoexec.bat files to perform such exciting tasks as telling the HP LaserJet Series 2 to print in a bold font. Later, when I worked at a used electronics store, I got to disassemble and refurbish specimens like the first computer I was given – after I destroyed the OS and found its owner didn’t have – the venerable IBM PC XT. She didn’t want it anyway, as it was ancient. I, however, was in heaven, having just discovered the joys (and agonies) of both hardware – my favorite – and software.

Getting way off track here – but this IS a tech convention!

Soon, the panel of speakers convenes and I take a seat up front.

 

The man who invited me, Jose Velasco and speaking to the Senate (?) – thank you again, Jose – introduces the speakers.

They are authors John Robison  (whom I like best, and who later receives the dubious distinction of “liking” my Tweet of the photo I took of his and the others’ shadows), Steve Silberman, author, “Neurotribes”, and Stephen Shore – the discussion was lively and informative., plus I got good pictures, especially of the panelists’ shadows on the wall.

Twiddling and rocking, I manage to listen and read from the sometimes misspelled transcript on the 3 screens, but am more interested in the electronic equipment for Livestreaming and recording the event. Livestream

Livestream is a video live streaming platform that allows customers to broadcast live video content using a camera and a computer through the Internet, and viewers to play the content via the web, iOS, Android, Roku, and the Apple TV. Livestream requires a paid subscription for content providers to use; it formerly offered a free ad-supported service but no longer does so as of 2016.

About halfway in, I leave to take photos in the lobby. I just can’t sit still. Neither can some others I observe scrutinizing their phones.

I chat with a guy who is working at Stanford to develop a device for recording sound levels for autistics called “Level the Noise” – Zach, I think his name is – and I consider participating.

Then, I get a good group photo of Niarchos Pombo and some of his associates from SAP, Latin America.

He also thanks me for the pictures I later send him.

This makes me feel appreciated and included – even if I never make it into the SAP Autism at Work program, though I just discovered I am eligible through the Department of Rehabilitation.

That’s about, it – except for the pesto canapes I enjoy.

The journey home is another story, and I decided not to relate it here, as studies have shown internet readers like shorter pieces.

Besides, it is not very positive in tone, and I would like to end this piece on the upbeat note I left the summit in.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

