The Piping Rock Episode, Part 2: Not Gullible

About Piping Rock

By providing the best quality vitamins, supplements, essential oils, and more, all at discount prices, Piping Rock claims to provide everything you need to live healthy at amazing values. On top of this, Piping Rock claims to have been in business for more than 40 years, and to understand the importance of being involved in each step of the manufacturing process.

But even considering their 4 decades and in business and low prices, are Piping Rock supplements worth the money? We did some digging around and here’s what we learned.

How PipingRock.com Works

According to the Piping Rock website, they offer some of the lowest prices in the industry by manufacturing their supplements in their own facility in Ronkonkoma, NY, shipping them right to your door, and then passing the savings on to you. The company also claims to hand select all of their ingredients, much of which are grown in their natural habitats, produced under strict quality control guidelines, and third-party tested in an FDA registered facility. As such, PipingRock.com claims to be “the ultimate one-stop-shop for health-conscious consumers.”

Essential oils not as described

  • By Vivien D.,
  • Lawrenceville, GA,
  • Jul 18, 2015

I was excited to find Piping Rock online as they had such great prices on essential oils. I ordered several from them, but the scents weren’t quite what I was expecting. At first, I thought it was just because I am new to essential oils. But then an oil group tested several of their oils, including the peppermint oil I had ordered. I was very disappointed to find out that it was actually much cheaper corn mint oil and not peppermint at all.

Even worse, Piping Rock has not stood by their product. They have dragged their heels in providing refunds to customers, and continue to sell the fraudulent oils. I refuse to patronize a company that treats their customers with such disdain. They claim to do laboratory testing on all their products. Either they don’t know how to run tests, or don’t care if their products are not what they claim to be. No thank you, low prices aren’t a savings if you aren’t getting the product you paid for. I’m returning all the oils I bought from them and I’ll find a company that cares about their customers and the quality of the products they sell.

Cart price changes

    • By Ron B,
    • Holden, Maine,
    • Feb 20, 2017

    I put items in my cart at a set price, but before I could place the order the prices in the cart changed to higher prices on each item. Their customer service had no idea and refused to help or honor the lower prices. Many emails later, I received no satisfaction. They don’t care about their good customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Magnesium Chloride 520mg – don’t waste your money.

    This product has been stored in sealed factory container, with dryer pack inside, expiry 03/2018. The product is disintegrating inside the container and is unusable. I called customer service, who said I need to contact the seller. Nonsense!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend.

    • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

      Bait and SWITCH

    • By David,
    • Little Rock, AR,
    • Feb 14, 2017

    With many vitamins and minerals, you won’t know for years whether or not they are working. With Niacin, I know in minutes. I get much less effect from 1000mg of this B3 than from a 100 mg of a competitor’s product. Based upon the effects of this product, I have serious questions as to the purity of the Piping Rock products and will probably return everything I ordered.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Bait and switch

    You order a product (that incidentally has many versions of) that has a very good price on it, but you get sent something that is much cheaper on the market. I will be specific – Acetyl L-Carnitine and L-Carnitine. The first is much cheaper, and that’s what you get sent when you order the more expensive version L-Carnitine. Sounds like an effective way to be able to advertise very low prices, by using old fashioned low life bait and switch techniques. Now to get what you need, you have to pay to send it back, and then go find it where you will get sent what you order. For the record, my order sheet says I ordered the ALC, but has a different price than what they have on their records, and it’s labeled as a substitute.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Sucralose in some supplements

    • By John,
    • OR,
    • Sep 26, 2016

    I am a relatively new Piping Rock customer. However, in a recent order I received, I noticed a very sweet taste to the melatonin I ordered. I looked on the label and noticed that they put Sucralose in it. I have no idea why they would put Sucralose in their products, definitely not a health product but a chemical. I contacted them saying I wanted a melatonin without Sucralose in it. They said they did not have any and they offered no solution, including a refund. As most people who buy health products know, Sucralose is not a health product but an anti-health product. So, I ask, do they have an agenda by putting this negative health product in their supplements?

    Save Your Money

    I ordered 5 bottles of Magnesium Chloride 520mg so called tablets. When you open the bottles you find a big pile of white powder along with broken tablets. They are so soft they actually break in your hand before you can get them in your mouth. Save your money folks. These are the worse tablets I have ever put in my mouth.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Leaking pills – bad customer service

    Really crappy customer service on pills that are leaking and they know there is a problem but I must send the stuff I’ve already thrown out for a credit or refund, and they know I threw it out. No credit no refund, only putting the onus on the consumer. Over a quarter of their product leaked out of the capsules onto my other meds and/or in the bottom of the bottles. And all they do this put you off and hope you’ll just cool down and leave it. Well I’m leaving it alright!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    Yes No

    Bait and SWITCH

    I have ordered from them before and no problem. I got an email that stated a B1G1 free sale was on, clicked the link and it said that there were over 100 items and to view click. I did and found several and purchased. Even verified it on chat that I would be getting quantity of two (it was showing only one on my checkout page) and was told 2 would be sent. Well I ordered and less than 45 min later, I received shipping confirm ( normally great) and noticed I was only getting 1 of each item and 2 of another.

    I called and was told there were “crazy deals” on that page too and they weren’t B1G1. All the items had crazy deal emblems, and 16 that were intermingled didn’t! I said that I wanted to cancel and was told it was too late and they would have to cancel the whole order, which I agreed to. And then I was told they couldn’t do that. Buyer beware, they will put other items in with the “special” sale items link or not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • South Carolina,
    • May 1, 2016
    • Essintial Oils are diluted. Pet vitamins smell like hay.

      The oils are really weak. The oil dispenser is very sloppy and runs all over the bottle. I used some peppermint oil with a carrier oil at the mix ratio they recommended and can’t even smell the peppermint. I ended up adding the entire 1/2 oz bottle of peppermint oil to 4 oz of carrier oil and could not even smell the peppermint. The oil does not give you that warm feeling of peppermint, definitely much weaker than any I have ever had in the past.

      Same thing with the sweet orange oil when making a body spritz or room spray.

      I used the dilution chart they sent me via email.

      I also purchased the magnesium oil, I was leary when reading the questions and answers because they were recommending to use 4 to 5 sprays in one answer, but in another answer stated 4 to 5 sprays delivered approximately 60 mg of magnesium. The recommended dosage I have gotten from everyone else is 550 mg a day. But I ordered it anyway. When I received it the bottle had no mention of how many mgs or how much to use on the label, no directions at all. I went with calculating 550 mg from the statement that 4 to 5 sprays delivered approximately 60 mgs. Using this calculation that ends up being about 36 to 45 sprays for each application. I am not feeling the relief from this magnesium oil that I do from Dr Shealy’s lotion. I think it is also very diluted.

      I also purchased Ultra Chewable Pet Vitamins for dogs and cats. I should have snapped when I bought them that you normally would not give a dog and a cat the same dosage of vitamins because they are so different, their foods are not the same, but, I did not. It did not matter anyway, my animals won’t touch them. They smell like hay. I let Piping Rock know that the animals did not like the chewable pills and that they smelled like hay, but they did not seem to think it mattered much.

      However, I did enjoy the sesame sticks and sunflower seed. They were pretty good, but, the bag does not say where they come from.

      I am not sure I will order from Piping Rock again.

      The items did arrive quickly and they were packed well. I was missing a sprayer pump for the spray bottles of Magnesium, but when notified they dropped some in the mail right away.

      Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

      Terrible quality oils. They won’t post negative reviews on site!

      • By Ang,
      • Brooklyn, NY,
      • Oct 22, 2015

      The mark of a shady company is the fact that they will not allow negative reviews posted on their website. I left 2 negative, VERY POLITE, very professionally worded reviews about the quality of their essential oil. TWICE they wouldn’t allow my comment posted on the site. They did, however, email me privately and tell me they would refund me for ONE of the oils I purchased (cheapest one). After the shipping costs and such, it wasn’t worth the fight or money to ship anything back.

      The oils are VERY heavily chemically scented. They are not even for aromatherapy let alone for therapeutic purposes.

      Don’t fall for this scam of a company, people. I wasted $40 with them. Don’t make my mistake

      My own verdict is srill out -the product didn’t make me sick, and today I saw evidence of its efficacy!

      More after I finish the bottle.

Leave a Reply

